The following colleagues have volunteered to serve as mentors. Please contact the person of your choosing via email, and make sure to include “MEM mentoring” in the subject of your message. Depending on the nature of your request and their availability, mentors will offer to conduct the discussion via email, over the phone, or in person at MESA. We kindly ask that you only contact the people listed below to discuss mentoring related issues.

If you are willing to volunteer as mentor (all ranks and subfields are welcome), please contact MEM’s secretary, Alison Vacca (avacca@utk.edu).

Mohamad Ballan
Assistant Professor of History
Stony Brook University
PhD 2019, University of Chicago
mohamad.ballan@stonybrook.edu


Antoine Borrut
Associate Professor of History

University of Maryland
PhD 2007, La Sorbonne (Paris)
aborrut@umd.edu

Fred M. Donner
Professor of Near Eastern History

University of Chicago
PhD 1975, Princeton
f-donner@uchicago.edu

Adam Gaiser
Professor of Religion
Florida State University
PhD 2005, University of Virginia
agaiser@fsu.edu

Melanie Gibson
Senior Editor
Gingko Library
PhD, SOAS
melanie1gibson@gmail.com

Matthew Gordon
Professor of History
Miami University of Ohio
PhD 1993, Columbia University
gordonma@MiamiOH.edu

Frank Griffel
Professor of Religious Studies

Yale University
PhD 1999, Free University Berlin
frank.griffel@yale.edu

Pamela M. Klasova
Arabic and Islamic Studies
Bowdoin College
PhD 2018, Georgetown University

pmk32@georgetown.edu

Sergio La Porta
Professor of Armenian Studies
California State University, Fresno
PhD 2001, Harvard University
slaporta@csufresno.edu

Austin O’Malley
Assistant Professor of Persian and Iranian Studies
University of Arizona
PhD 2017, University of Chicago
austinomalley@email.arizona.edu

Stephennie Mulder
Asscoiate Professor of Islamic Art and Architecture
University of Texas, Austin
PhD 2008, University of Pennsylvania
smulder@austin.utexas.edu

Kristina L. Richardson 
Asscoiate Professor of History
Queens College, City University of New York
PhD 2008, University of Michigan
Kristina.Richardon@qc.cuny.edu

Nerina Rustomji
Associate Professor of History
St. John’s University
PhD 2003, Columbia University
rustomjn@stjohns.edu

Sarah Bowen Savant
Professor of History
Aga Khan University, London
PhD 2006, Harvard
sarah.savant@aku.edu

Maria Giovanna Stasolla
Professor of History
Università di Roma “Tor Vergata”
mariagiovannastasolla@gmail.com

Brian Ulrich
Assistant Professor of History
Shippensburg University
PhD 2008, University of Wisconsin
bjulrich@ship.edu

Alison M. Vacca
Associate Professor of History

University of Tennessee, Knoxville
PhD 2013, University of Michigan
avacca@utk.edu