Professor Maribel Fierro received the Middle East Medievalists Lifetime Achievement Award. 2019, New Orleans, LA.

Each year the MEM Board of Directors awards the Middle East Medievalists Lifetime Achievement Award to a scholar who has served the field of medieval Middle Eastern Studies with distinction. Past honorees have included:




2019: Maribel Fierro (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas)

2018: Donald Whitcomb (University of Chicago)

2017: Suzanne Pinckney Stetkevych (Georgetown University)

2016: Fred M. Donner (University of Chicago)

2015: Richard W. Bulliet (Columbia University)

2014: Patricia Crone (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)

2013: R. Stephen Humphreys (University of California Santa Barbara)

2011: Wadad Kadi (University of Chicago)

2010: Not awarded

2009: Jere Bacharach (University of Washington)

2002-2008: Not awarded

2001: Ira M. Lapidus (University of California, Berkeley)

2000: Pierre Cachia (Columbia University)

1999: Sam I. Gellens (Horace Mann School, New York)

1998: George T. Scanlon (American University in Cairo)