MEM Lifetime Achievement Award

Carole Hillenbrand (University of Edinburgh) received the Middle East Medievalists Lifetime Achievement Award at the MEM business meeting in November 2023.

Each year the MEM Board of Directors presents the Lifetime Achievement Award to a scholar who has served the field of medieval Middle Eastern Studies with distinction. Past honorees have included:

2022: András Riedlmayer (Harvard University)

2021: Doris Behrens-Abouseif (SOAS University of London)

2020: Michael Cook (Princeton University)

2019: Maribel Fierro (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas)

2018: Donald Whitcomb (University of Chicago)

2017: Suzanne Pinckney Stetkevych (Georgetown University)

2016: Fred M. Donner (University of Chicago)

2015: Richard W. Bulliet (Columbia University)

2014: Patricia Crone (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)

2013: R. Stephen Humphreys (University of California, Santa Barbara)

2012: Not awarded

2011: Wadad Kadi (University of Chicago)

2010: Not awarded

2009: Jere Bacharach (University of Washington)

2002–08: Not awarded

2001: Ira M. Lapidus (University of California, Berkeley)

2000: Pierre Cachia (Columbia University)

1999: Sam I. Gellens (Horace Mann School, New York)

1998: George T. Scanlon (American University in Cairo)